REQUEST FOR PROPOSALS: Writing Services for a White Paper on Manitoba Heritage

On 1 October, a group of eight Provincial Heritage Agencies (Association for Manitoba Archives, Association of Manitoba Museums, Heritage Winnipeg, Jewish Heritage Centre of Western Canada, La Société historique de Saint-Boniface, Manitoba Archaeological Society, Manitoba Genealogical Society, Manitoba Historical Society) hosted the Manitoba Heritage Summit 2020. The purpose of the Summit was to discuss challenges and opportunities in the heritage sector generally, now and in the next 10 to 20 years, and to use feedback received during and after the Summit to develop a White Paper on Manitoba Heritage. This White Paper will be used by the PHAs for strategic planning and will be publicized to foster public and government engagement.

A writer is required to assist a Steering Committee of the PHAs in the preparation of this White Paper, based on comprehensive notes taken during the Summit, a full video recording of the Summit, and research and surveys undertaken after the Summit by the Committee. The contents of the White Paper will be as follows:

  • A brief profile of each PHA and pertinent other agencies, provided by the Committee, and tabulated and compiled by the writer.
  • A summary of challenges and opportunities identified during the Heritage Summit 2020 and from responses to an online survey conducted by the Steering Committee, and compiled by the writer.
  • A statement of the current state of the Manitoba heritage sector and a strategic vision for the next 10 to 20 years, including recommendations and conclusions provided by the Committee, and compiled by the writer.
  • Any additional research required for the White Paper will be the responsibility of the Committee in consultation with the writer.
  • It is anticipated the White Paper will be 25 to 35 pages in length, with additional appendices as identified during the preparation process.
  • The first draft of the White Paper shall be provided to the Committee by the end of December 2020, with a final revised copy submitted by the end of January 2021.

Written responses to this request for proposals should include a resume, an estimate of the financial compensation respondents expect, and examples of similar work carried out, if available. Proposals shall be submitted no later than Friday, 13 November 2020 at 5:00 PM to Ms. Tracey Turner (info@manitobaheritagesummit.ca). Questions should be directed to

Dr. Gordon Goldsborough (president@mhs.mb.ca).

Request for proposals (PDF)

Archives

DEMANDE DE PROPOSITIONS: Services de rédaction d’un livre blanc sur le patrimoine manitobain

Le 1er octobre, un groupe de huit agences provinciales du patrimoine (Association for Manitoba Archives, Association of Manitoba Museums, Heritage Winnipeg, Jewish Heritage Centre of Western Canada, La Société historique de Saint-Boniface, Manitoba Archaeological Society, Manitoba Genealogical Society, Manitoba Historical Society) a accueilli le Sommet sur le patrimoine du Manitoba 2020. Le but du Sommet était de discuter des défis et des opportunités dans le secteur du patrimoine généralement, maintenant et dans les 10 à 20 prochaines années, et d’utiliser les commentaires reçus pendant et après la Sommet pour élaborer un livre blanc sur le patrimoine manitobain. Ce livre blanc sera utilisé par les agences provinciales du patrimoine pour leur planification stratégique et sera diffusé pour favoriser l’engagement du public et du gouvernement.

Un rédacteur est recherché pour assister un Comité directeur des agences provinciales dans la préparation de ce livre blanc qui sera basé sur des notes complètes prises durant le Sommet, un enregistrement vidéo complet du Sommet, et des recherches et enquêtes entreprises après le Sommet par le Comité. Le contenu du livre blanc sera le suivant:

• Un bref profil de chaque agence provinciale du patrimoine et d’autres agences pertinentes, fourni par le Comité, et compilé et présenté par le rédacteur.

• Un résumé des défis et des opportunités identifiés lors du Sommet sur le patrimoine 2020 et à partir des réponses à une enquête en ligne menée par le Comité directeur et compilées par le rédacteur.

• Un énoncé de l’état actuel du secteur patrimonial du Manitoba et une vision stratégique pour les 10 à 20 prochaines années, y compris les recommandations et les conclusions fournies par le Comité et compilées par le rédacteur.

• Toute recherche supplémentaire requise pour le livre blanc sera de la responsabilité du Comité en consultation avec le rédacteur.

• Il est prévu que le livre blanc comptera entre 25 et 35 pages, avec des annexes supplémentaires tel qu’identifiées au cours du processus de préparation.

• La première version du livre blanc sera remise au Comité à la fin de décembre 2020, avec une copie finale révisée soumise avant la fin janvier 2021.

Les réponses écrites à cet appel de propositions doivent inclure un curriculum vitae, une estimation de la compensation financière attendue par les répondants et des exemples de travaux similaires réalisés, si disponibles. Les propositions doivent être soumises au plus tard le vendredi 13 novembre 2020 à 17h00 à Mme Tracey Turner (info@manitobaheritagesummit.ca). Les questions doivent être adressées au Dr Gordon Goldsborough (president@mhs.mb.ca).

Demande de propositions (PDF)

Archives des nouvelles